Fire Department

Fire Department

The Beulaville Fire Department was organized in 1954. The first Fire Chief was Andrew Jackson. The first truck, an American Lafrance, was purchased in 1954.  In 1956, a Rural Truck was built using a Ford Chassie with a 1,000 Gallon tank on it. The first firemen did not have the pleasure of having turnout gear, instead they responded in their regular clothes. The first hose the Fire Dept. had was a 2 &1/2 " hose.  The firemen hooked this hose to the fire hydrants to fight fires with. The first big fire that the Beulaville Fire Dept. dealt with occurred at the tire shop that used to be at Main St. and Wilson Ave. The first method of alarm used then was that someone would go to the Beulaville Town Hal,l and push the alarm button and wait for somone to respond.  After responders would show up, the person would then tell them where the fire was. Modern technology has now taken the place of the push button.  In 1964, a Ford 1,000 gal Fire Truck was purchased from C.W. Williams in Rocky Mt. NC for the price of $6500.00.  A $ 25.00 fee was charged to all out of town fires to help pay for the truck.

The response area for Beulaville Fire used to be Hargetts Cross Rd's, Pink Hill, Chinquapin, Lyman, Potters Hill, Fountaintown, Kenansville and all the way down Hwy. 24 to the Onslow Co line.  However, the area of coverage has since changed.  In 1954, there were 23 members on the roster, thus changing to 40 plus now. In 1972, the Beulaville EMS service was started, and in 1978 a new Fire Dept was constructed. The 1954 member roster was as follows:  Chief Andrew Jackson, Asst. Chief Cecil A. Miller, Frank Thomas, Herman Gore, Thomas Kennedy, Lloyd Rhodes, Charles Sandlin, I.J. Sandlin Jr, Horace S. Brinson, Rolin Thomas, George C. Lanier, Walter Goodman, Ransom Smith, John Thomas, Leland Grady,York Lanier, Herman Smith, Winfred Miller,Perry Williams, Carlton Craft, Clinton Campbell, Richard Mcdowell, and Sidney Blizzard.

Current Member Listing

The Beulaville Fire Chief is Joey Carter.  He has been the Chief of the Beulaville Fire Dept. since 1990.  Other current members of the Beulaville Fire Dept. include Asst. Chief  Jerry Simmons, Captain Ronnie Bostic, Captain Greg Brown, EMS Captain Ada Brown, Lt. Rudy Kennedy, Lt. Don Brown, Main Alvin Dunn, and Main Mickey Jones. The current President is John Simmons, Vice President Doug Brown, Secretary Martha Bratcher, Treasurer Gilda Thigpen, Board F.H. Danley, Board Jeff Thigpen, and Board Vera Carter. Other Members listed on the roster are as follows:  Jarrett Brown, Gene Carter, Marshall Carter, Avery Edwards, Robert Houston, Gary Kelley, Angie Kennedy, Fred Makatura, Anthony Miller, Joe Newburn, Stuart Quinn, Shane Rhodes, Shermin Sandlin, Chris Singleton, Jeremy Street, Byron Thomas, Jimmy Thomas, Kristy Wagner, Roger Whaley, Randy Williams,Conary Batts, Jessie R Bostic, Douglas Brown, Dean Eubanks, Matthew S Makakatura, Cecil A. Miller, James W Thomas, Perry Williams, and Randall K WIlliams.

beulavillewebsite 041     beulavillewebsite 050     truck and chopper

Bville Fire and EMS